Philippines: Dumaguete

My arrival into Dumaguete was a breeze thanks to my accommodation being just a 5 minute walk from the ferry port. Coastal Inn is a nice, albeit shabby, guesthouse with friendly staff and some of the fastest Wi-Fi I’d had in the whole country. It was perfect for my one night stopover in rainy Dumaguete. I was praying the weather was nicer up North in Sipalay where I was heading next for my final beach experience of my trip.

195
Shabby but pleasant Dumaguete

As per Lonely Planet, I knew the trip to Sipalay (and, more specifically, Sugar Beach) would be a complicated one. You need to get three buses, then a tricycle and then a boat before you reach the beach. I’d heard on TripAdvisor however that a direct bus existed so I walked down to the Dumaguete bus terminal (a big yellow building for Ceres Liner) the day before my journey to double-check. Sure enough, the guy there said there was a direct A/C bus at 12pm. Simple. Hmmm….

After this, I ate at the cheapest place I think I’ve ever eaten. Seriously, if you’re travelling on a shoestring, pop into Qyosko where you get tasty food which is ridiculously cheap. I got two courses and a drink for 110php (around £1.50). It’s ludicrous but the food is also quite nice. I wish there was one everywhere. After this, I strolled along the lovely Rizal Promenade until the rain started again before heading back to the guesthouse.

Rizal Promenade, Dumaguete
Rizal Promenade, Dumaguete

The next day I decided to walk to the bus terminal, stopping at a bakery to scoff some delicious 7 php madeleines (Dumaguete is so cheap!). I wanted to get to the bus terminal early after remembering how busy the buses were in Palawan so I arrived at around 10.45am. I checked with the guy there again who seemed a little distracted. However, he confirmed there’d be a bus at noon to Sipalay. So I waited and waited and waited. I asked him again at around 12.15pm and got fobbed off so by the time 12.30pm came, I got bored of waiting and just decided to take the three bus option.

Leave a Reply

